Elective Offices

The following list is a quick guide to the elective offices for officials and representatives. The list includes city, county, state, and national offices for persons representing the voters of Garland county and includes a brief summary of responsibilities, terms, and qualifications:

City of Hot Springs:

  • Mayor – Executive officer of the city. Represents the city at all official functions, presides over city board meetings and is the official liaison to governmental bodies and civic groups. – Elected at large within the city for four year terms.
  • City Director (6) – Forms the board, the legislative body of city government. Sets policy for the city government. Appoints a city manager who implements their policy, and runs the city’s day to day operations including managing employees under board’s supervision. Elected by district to four year terms.

Garland County:

  • County Judge – Chief Executive Officer of the County – Presides over Quorum Court, without a vote, but with veto power- hires county employees – sits in a judicial role, presiding over the county court in certain restricted matters. Elected for two year terms – must be at least 25 years of age, bondable, a qualified voter & resident of the county. Elected for two year terms.
  • Quorum Court (13) Justice of the Peace (JP) elected by District – The legislative body of the County that meets monthly. – Justices are elected for two year terms and must be a resident of their district.  Elected for two year terms.
  • County Sheriff – Chief Law Enforcement Officer of the County, sheriff of the courts. Is responsible for the county jail and all prisoners. Elected for two year terms.
  • County Clerk – the official bookkeeper of the county. Serves as the clerk for the county, quorum and probate courts and as secretary of the Board of Equalization and records the minutes of their meetings. The County Clerk is the official voter registrar, issues marriage licenses and keeps a record of all firms in the county, which have incorporated and also is responsible for payroll records and accounts payable – Elected for two year terms.
  • Circuit Clerk – The Circuit Clerk is clerk of the courts and also acts as the ex-officio recorder for the county, and swears in all notaries public. Also is responsible for recording deeds, mortgages, liens, surety bonds and is the county collector of child support – Elected for two year terms.
  • County Collector – is the collector of taxes for the county and collects municipal, county, school and improvement district taxes and turns them over to the County Treasurer – Elected for two year terms.
  • County Assessor – The Assessor’s Office is responsible for the administration of the property tax system. Assessors are responsible to identify property for the purpose of imposing property taxes, value such property to determine basis of taxes, and list the property on an official tax roll – Elected for two year terms.
  • County Treasurer – the disbursement officer of the county – is responsible for the custody and disbursement of all county and school district funds. The Treasurer receives county tax collections, and other funds and revenues from various sources. After receiving this revenue, the Treasurer distributes the money to the various taxing units of the county. – Elected for two year terms.

State of Arkansas:

  • Governor – Chief executive officer of the state. – Elected for four year term.
  • Lt Governor – Elected for four year term.
  • Attorney General – Elected for four year term.
  • Secretary of State – Elected for four year term.
  • State Senator – Districts 19 & 27 – Serve in the state Senate – Elected for four year terms.
  • State Representatives – Districts 23, 24, 25, 26, 30 – Serve in the state House of Representatives – Elected for two year terms.

US Federal Government:

  • US President  – Elected to four year terms of office on years divisible by four.  Must be a native-born citizen of the United States, minimum age of 35 years.  President is limited to two terms in office.
  • US Vice President – Serves when president is unable to perform duties of the office.  Is the President pro-tem of the Senate and votes in the event of a tie. Requirements  of office are same as president.
  • Senator (2) Elected for six year terms to the US Senate by the whole people of the state. Terms are staggered so no more than one senator is elected in any even numbered year. Minimum age of 30 and 9 year citizen of the US and a resident of the state.
  • Representative (4) Elected for two year terms to the US House of Representatives by individual districts. Elected in even numbered years for two year terms. Minimum age of 25 and 7 year citizen of US and a resident of the state.

Showing 2 reactions

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
  • commented 2016-09-27 14:24:51 -0500
    My wife and I will be in Hot Springs in October and were wondering if the county party is organizing debate watch parties.
  • published this page 2015-05-16 14:12:05 -0500